emailContact Us    ASIP MEMBER ACCESS    Become a Supporter    News    Job Seekers/Employers    facebookGoogle+twitterinstagramlinkedinsnapchatYoutube

Direct all Inquiries to:

ASIP Outstanding Investigator Award

This prestigious award recognizes mid-career investigators with demonstrated excellence in research in experimental pathology. The Meritorious Awards Committee will consider the published record of peer-reviewed research and overall impact of the science, mentorship, and participation of the candidate and protégés in ASIP scientific meetings. There is no age eligibility requirement for this award. However, prior experience suggests that most successful awardees are in transition from Associate Professor to Professor (or equivalent) and are under 50 years of age at the time of nomination.

Awardees will deliver an Award Lecture at the ASIP Annual Meeting. In addition, the awardee will submit a manuscript based on their award lecture that will form the basis of a peer-reviewed publication in The American Journal of Pathology. Eligible candidates for the ASIP Outstanding Investigator Award must be an ASIP member in continuous good standing for at least five years immediately prior to nomination. Awardees receive a commemorative etched crystal award. The ASIP Outstanding Investigator awardee is recognized at the ASIP Annual Meeting.


Nominations for the ASIP Outstanding Investigator Award should include:


  1. Three letters of recommendation, including at least two from current ASIP members. Letters of recommendation should be updated in subsequent years if the nomination is renewed.

  2. The Nominee's curriculum vitae (CV), including a complete bibliography of published research. The nominee’s CV should be updated in subsequent years if the nomination is renewed.

Please Note:  In order to utilize the "writable" features in the Award Application form, it is recommended that you install Adobe Acrobat Reader prior to opening the forms.You can also open the forms and then download them to activate the writable fields.


ASIP Outstanding Investigator Award Recipients (Funded by ASIP)
Celina G. Kleer Scott Oakes Shuji Ogino
Celina G. Kleer, MD
Scott Oakes, MD, PhD
Shuji Ogino
Yin Anirban Maitra Anindya Dutta
Xiao-Ming Yin
Anirban Maitra pdf
Anindya Dutta pdf
S. Paul Monga William Coleman Elenitoba-Johnson
S. Paul Monga pdf
William B. Coleman pdf
Kojo Elenitoba-Johnson pdf
Mark Smith Charleen Chu Mel Feany
Mark A. Smith pdf
Charleen T. Chu pdf
Mel Feany pdf
Amgen Outstanding Investigator Award Recipients
(Funded by Amgen, Inc.)
David Engman Gerald Shadel Johnathan Pollack
David M. Engman pdf
Gerald S. Shadel
Jonathan Pollack
Jerrold Turner Arul Chinnaiyan U. von Andrian
Jerrold R. Turner
Arul Chinnaiyan pdf
U. von Andrian
Pfizer Outstanding Investigator Award Recipients
(Funded by Pfizer)
Charles Clevenger Martin Matzuk Robert Doms
Charles Clevenger
Martin M. Matzuk
Robert W. Doms
Award Recipients

2000 John C. Reed
1999 James M. Musser
1998 Michael R. Lieber
1997 Cynthia C. Morton<
1996 V.M. Dixit
1996 W.G. Stetler-Stevenson
1995 M. L. Tykocinski
1994 Tucker Collins
1993 Michael L. Cleary
1992 J. B. Lowe
1991 D. P. Hajjar
1990 J. L. Madara
1989 Eugene C. Butcher
1988 Jordan S. Pober
1987 J. L. Sklar and
1987 A. K. Abbas
1986 G. R. Crabtree
1985 Jacques U. Baenziger
1984 Lance A. Liotta
1983 Peter Howley
1982 D. Clayton
1982 Michael Gimbrone, Jr.
1981 Michael Lieberman
1980 Peter M. Henson
1979 Carl Pierce
1978 Richard A. Lerner
1977 Stanley Cohen
1976 Norman R. Klinman
1975 George J. Todaro
1974 Emil R. Unanue
1973 Vincent T. Marchesi
1972 Karl E. Hellstrom
1971 Peter A. Ward
1970 A. Rees Midgley, Jr.
1969 Charles G. Cochrane
1968 Henry C. Pitot
1967 William O. Weigle
1966 Hans J. Muller-Eberhard
1965 Peter C. Nowell
1964 Frederick Stohlman
1963 Edwin R. Fisher
1962 Robert A. Good
1961 Donald B. Hackel
1960 Floyd R. Skelton
1959 Stanfield Rogers
1958 Emmanuel Farber
1957 Frank J. Dixon, Jr.